To qualify for the Texas Homestead Exemption, you must meet the following criteria:
- The home for which you wish to file must be your primary residence (i.e. you do not wish to maintain the homestead exemption on another property).
- You have a Texas driver’s license or Texas-issued personal identification certificate (your I.D. card address must match your principal residence address)
If you meet this criteria, click here to send me the information I need to create your property tax exemption packet. I will complete what I can for you in the packet and mail you everything you need to file.
If you are a Disabled Veteran, over the age of 65, the surviving spouse of someone who was 65 years or older, or a person receiving disability insurance payments, you may also qualify for additional tax savings. I am happy to answer general questions or send these forms to you as well.
Proposition 4, Known as Prop 4 Passed in November 2023. There is what you need to know:
Texans voted to approve Proposition 4 which increased the homestead tax exemption by raising it from $40,000 to $100,000. Though voted on in November 2023, it was retroactively applied to the tax year commencing on January 1, 2023. The amendment also authorized the state legislature to limit the annual appraisal increase for non-homestead real properties. For the next three years, the taxable value of all property that is not someone’s place of residence cannot increase by greater than 20% as long as the property is valued at $5 million or less. The bill also amended the way laws are written to allow seniors and the disabled to benefit from these breaks and amended the law to allow legislature to pay for this $18 billion in tax relief.